Proofs

It’s only four months until NOVA releases, and I don’t know about you, but I’m getting pretty excited! So I thought you might like a quick update on where we are in the process.

This week, I just received my proofs for NOVA. Basically, the novel has been formatted and typeset to look the way it will during printing. A copy was sent to me electronically and by mail, giving me one last chance to read it over for possible errors or typos. Only small changes are possible at this point, so I sure hope I don’t find anything big I missed!

Receiving proofs is actually pretty cool because I get to see what types of fonts are being used and how the chapter headings and title page are formatted. (Hint: There’s a very cool visual effect being used for the title!) In short, my manuscript is starting to look like a real book on the inside.

Once I read the book through, I’ll send any corrections to the managing editor at DAW, who will make sure they’re corrected before they start printing the Advanced Reading Copies (ARCs). ARCs will then go out to actual reviewers to read. Ahem…I may also have asked for a few extra ARCs myself, so stay tuned as I may be offering a giveaway sometime in the not-too-distant future!

So right now I’m working hard on my proofs and the ever-present book two of the series. In the meantime, Helen Treharne of Tea Talks was kind enough to host me on her blog. Feel free to stop by her site here to find out how long my publishing journey has taken me, as well as some great tips for writers!

Leave a Reply

